Along with the ECBio’s team, several medical doctors and scientists from renowned institutions have been involved in ECBio’s product development, from the characterization of the cell product to pre-clinical (animal studies) and clinical trials. Currently, ECBio has collaborations with several university hospitals and research institutes, including Santa Maria and São João Hospitals in Portugal, the Karolinska Institute in Sweden and the Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital in France:


National external collaborations

  • Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica (ITQB)
  • Instituto de Biologia Experimental e Tecnológica (IBET – GeniBet Biopharmaceuticals)
  • Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência (IGC)
  • Faculdade de Farmácia da Universidade de Lisboa (iMED)
  • Associação para Investigação e Desenvolvimento da Faculdade de Medicina de Lisboa (AIDFM)
  • Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas Abel Salazar (ICBAS)
  • Instituto de Ciências e Tecnologias Agrárias e Agro-Alimentares (ICETA)
  • Instituto de Engenharia Biomédica da Universidade do Porto (INEB)
  • Instituto de Medicina Molecular (IMM)
  • Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Celular (IBMC)
  • Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade do Porto
  • Faculdade de Medicina Dentária da Universidade de Lisboa
  • Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
  • Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade Nova de Lisboa
  • Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária da Universidade Técnica de Lisboa
  • Hospital de Santa Maria, Lisboa
  • Hospital de São João, Porto


International external collaborations

  • Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, France
  • Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
  • Health Research Institute of Santiago (IDIS); Complexo Hospitalario Universitario de Santiago de Compostela/SERGAS, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • Charité, University of Medicine, Berlin, Germany
  • Hannover Medical School, Germany
  • Red Cross Blood Center, Germany
  • Helmholtz Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (HZI), Germany
  • Glycothera GmbH, Germany
  • European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Germany
  • Fraunhofer Institute, Germany



  • Partially funded by QREN/SI & DT – QREN2008/1467, QREN2009/5294, QREN2011/24765, QREN2012/30196